Who ran for president in the 2008 election?

March 3, 2019 Off By idswater

Who ran for president in the 2008 election?

2008 United States presidential election

Nominee Barack Obama John McCain
Party Democratic Republican
Home state Illinois Arizona
Running mate Joe Biden Sarah Palin
Electoral vote 365 173

When was Obama elected 2008?

On November 4, 2008, Obama defeated the Republican nominee, Senator John McCain of Arizona, making him the President-elect and the first African American elected President. He was the third sitting U.S. Senator, after Warren G. Harding and John F. Kennedy, to be elected president.

Was there a election in 2009?

2009 United States elections were held on Tuesday, November 3. In total, only the seat representing New York’s 23rd congressional district changed party hands, increasing the Democratic Party’s majority over the Republicans in the United States House of Representatives, 258–177. …

Who ran for president in 2007?

Joe Biden 2008 presidential campaign

Joe Biden for President 2008
Affiliation Democratic Party
Status Withdrawn; became running mate on August 23, 2008
Announced January 7, 2007
Launched January 31, 2007

Who was president in November 2008?

The election was the 56th quadrennial United States presidential election. It was held on November 4, 2008, but its significant events and background date back to about 2002. The Democratic Party nominee, Senator Barack Obama of Illinois, defeated the Republican Party’s nominee, Senator John McCain of Arizona.

Who ran against Hillary 2008?

Solutions for America! Hillary Clinton won many primaries, but lost the Democratic Party nomination to Barack Obama during the 2008 United States presidential election.

Who won the elections in 2009?

16 April 2009 – 13 May 2009

Alliance UPA NDA
Leader since 22 May 2004 1 June 2004
Leader’s seat Assam (Rajya Sabha) Gandhinagar
Last election 28.30%, 145 seats 22.16%, 138 seats
Seats won 206 116

Who controlled the House in 2008?

2008 United States House of Representatives elections

Leader Nancy Pelosi John Boehner
Party Democratic Republican
Leader since January 3, 2003 January 3, 2007
Leader’s seat California 8th Ohio 8th
Last election 233 seats, 52.3% 202 seats, 44.3%

Who was elected President of the United States in 2008?

See Article History. On November 4, 2008, after a campaign that lasted nearly two years, Americans elected Illinois senator Barack Obama their 44th president.

What was the date of the Great Recession of 2008?

A trader gestures as he works on the floor of the New York Stock Exchange September 29, 2008 in New York City. U.S. stocks took a nosedive in reaction to the global credit crisis and as the U.S. House of Representatives rejected the $700 billion rescue package, 228-205. Dow Jones Industrials fell as much as 700 points in midday trading.

Who was the Prime Minister of Canada in 2008?

Stephen Harper takes office as prime minister of Canada. Premier Gordon Campbell of British Columbia announces the creation of the 6.4-million-hectare (16-million-acre) Great Bear Rain Forest preserve in the Canadian province; the preserve will include a protected area and an area to be logged under a management plan.

Who was the Prime Minister of Zimbabwe in 2008?

On February 11, 2009, Tsvangirai was sworn in as prime minister, and Thokozani Khupe, of Tsvangirai’s faction of the MDC, and Mutambara were sworn in as deputy prime ministers. The new government soon made efforts to improve the country’s poor economic situation.

See Article History. On November 4, 2008, after a campaign that lasted nearly two years, Americans elected Illinois senator Barack Obama their 44th president.

When did the Electoral College change from 2004 to 2008?

Nine states changed allegiance from the 2004 election. Each had voted for the Republican nominee in 2004 and contributed to Obama’s sizable Electoral College victory. The selected electors from each of the 50 states and the District of Columbia voted for President and Vice President of the United States on December 15, 2008.

September 5, 2008: The Prime Minister’s Office (PMO) announces that Prime Minister Stephen Harper will visit the Governor General at 9 am on September 7, 2008 to ask for the dissolution of the 39th Parliament and a general election on October 14, 2008.

Who are the members of the Senate in 2008?

1 Mark Begich (D-AK) 2 Al Franken (D-MN) 3 Kay Hagan (D-NC) 4 Mike Johanns (R-NE) 5 Jeff Merkley (D-OR) 6 Jim Risch (R-ID) 7 Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH) 8 Mark Udall (D-CO) 9 Tom Udall (D-NM) 10 Mark Warner (D-VA)